Press Kit

About the Expedition

In May 2023, Christopher “Cam” Cameron, Nobby Styles and Emil Bergmann left the harbour of Inverkip, Scotland onboard the Sailing Vessel Taeping, on a voyage to Rockall.

Rockall is an uninhabitable granite islet in the North Atlantic ocean, with the nearest permanently inhabited place being North Uist, an island in the Outer Hebrides of Scotland, 200NM to the east.

The Expedition Aim

Their expedition aim is as follows:

To successfully land on Rockall; COMPLETE

To activate the radio callsign MM0UKI (MIKE-MIKE-ZERO-UNIFORM-KILO-INDIA), which is the designated call sign for Rockall (known as EU-189). This is a much sought after call sign by radio amateurs around the world, given it’s rarity; COMPLETE

To inhabit Rockall for a duration that beats the current world record of 45 days, held by explorer Nick Hancock. The current target is to inhabit Rockall for 60 days. The ledge where they will be staying is 1.5m x 4.5m; ABORTED

To use all of the above as a means to raise a significant amount of money for 2 veterans charities: ABF, The Soldier’s Charity; and the Royal Navy & Royal Marines Charity. The current target is £50,000 spilt between the two. Donations are via Just Giving (https://www.justgiving.com/page/rockallexped

Why those charities?

Cam served as a regular soldier in the Gordon Highlanders, a former line infantry regiment of the British Army, so ABF, the Soldier’s Charity was a natural choice.

Cam has also spent time in the naval reserve, including training many hundreds of students who have gone on to join the regular naval service. As such, this charity is also very close to his heart.

How will the expedition evolve?

We have a vessel chartered to take the team to Rockall; to remain on station in the vicinity for ~ 1 week, then to extract Nobby and Emil. They will then sail back to the mainland UK, where Nobby and Emil will return to their day to day lives, exhilarated and ready to talk about their exploits.

In addition to Cam, Nobby and Emil, we have a wonderful documentary team, led by Aaron Wheeler who are following the expedition, and will be base on SV Taeping for it’s time around Rockall.

Cam will then remain on Rockall, unsupported, with no support vessel. In mid July, dates subject to weather, SV Taeping will return and extract Cam and return him to the mainland, after inhabiting Rockall for ~60 days.

Rockall is at the very edge of the range of standard UK Search and Rescue rotary assets (helicopters), as such, should an issue arise, Cam will be heavily dependant on vessels (including fishing vessels) passing Rockall for assistance unless favourable weather allows for a helicopter evacuation.

It cannot be under estimated how strenuous and potentially dangerous this expedition is. 

The team have taken every possible precaution, including multiple different forms of emergency radio communication, personal locator beacons, dry suits, life jackets, climbing rigging, harnesses and other survival aids.

Latest Updates

We are posting regular updates on our Twitter feed (@Rockall2023), and in our public Facebook group (https://www.facebook.com/groups/rockallexped). In addition, updates will also be posted here in slower time, ordered newest to oldest.

All images here are licensed for press use but not resale, subject to being attributed to “Rockall Expedition / RockallExped.com” unless otherwise stated.

Please include a link to either this website, or our JustGiving page in any articles (https://www.justgiving.com/page/rockallexped)

 
16/07/2023

The operation to recover all the equipment from Rockall has begun. Cam, Emil and Nobby have set sail on SV Taeping to head back to Rockall as of 16th July. Subject to weather, they will arrive around 18th/19th July, and remove all the equipment from Rockall. They will also activate MM0UKI one last time, so that any radio operators who did not manage to get a QSL card last time can tick it off their list. Details will be posted to our Facebook group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/rockallexped

 

Donations can still be made https://www.justgiving.com/page/rockallexped

 
29/06/2023 – 14:40 BST (13:40 UTC) 
 
An update from Cam: 
I’m safe and well after a good night’s sleep, courtesy of the hospitality and kindness from the people of Stornoway.  I owe this all to the courageous and speedy extraction from Rockall by the professionalism of HM COASTGUARD and in particular, Stornoway Coastguard, the Captain and crew of SAR Stornoway, under difficult wind conditions. Ably assisted by Captain and crew from Rescue 22, top cover fixed wing asset from 2excel.
 
During my initial mayday broadcast, HM Coastguard kept me informed of the incredible work going on behind the scenes. Special mention must go to the Captain and crew of Mv Nassauborg, who during my time awaiting the arrival of the SAR aircraft, maintained a constant visual contact with me on the rock thought the whole time the waves were washing over rockall. I was re-assured at all times that I was in safe hands and that I would return to see my family despite being in pain, exhausted and hypothermic.
 
I’ll need a moment or two to take stock, decompress, and get home to see my family. Thereafter, I’m happy to recount the whole experience. I did it for the charities and we have raised some much needed money for them. Please look out for the book on Rockallexped.com. and watch the whole story unfold on www. ROCKALLDOC.COM.
 
Cam Cameron VR FRGS
 
Copyright Cam Cameron VR FRGS
Copyright HM Coastguard Stornoway
Copyright HM Coastguard Stornoway

29/06/2023 – 13:00 BST (12:00 UTC) 

Additional licensable footage of the expedition is available. Please email [email protected] and [email protected] to licence. Previews available here: https://www.dropbox.com/scl/fo/5kj0vkk024p5uyuc1if07/h?dl=0&rlkey=3wutcvo92uzunh2rpi4fph2rb

28/06/2023 – 19:00 BST (18:00 UTC) 
Cam has now been recovered from Rockall, and is safe and in good hands. We will post further updates in the coming days.
 
For the media – we will not be conducting interviews at this time.
 
Imagery including that available to licence is available at rockallexped.com/presskit. We will be adding to that in the coming hours and days.
 
 

28/06/2023 – 16:45 BST (15:45 UTC) 

Due to declining weather conditions and sea state at Rockall over the last 24 hours, Cam has, this afternoon declared a Mayday. An operation to evacuate him from Rockall is currently being coordinated by HM Coastguard.

As this is an on-going operation, we would ask that you do not speculate. Please standby for further updates as soon as we have them.

We will not be conducting media interviews.

 

21/06/2023 – 10:00 UTC (11:00 BST)

Today marks the half way point to breaking the world record for occupation of Rockall. It also happens to be Reserves Day, part of the wider Armed Forces Week events, which is especially poignant with Cam being a member of the reserve forces himself.

New fundraising videos now available courtesy of Aaron Wheeler / RockallDoc.com  Please do not cut or reuse the footage outside of its original version.

Please credit Aaron Wheeler / RockallDoc.com when using.

11/06/2023 – 20:30 UTC (21:30 BST)
 
New photos added from documentary director Aaron Wheeler. These can be licensed as full size non watermarked versions by emailing [email protected] or [email protected].
 
 
04/06/2023 – 20:30 UTC (21:30 BST)
 
Cam has managed to send some photos through. These show the LandPod (his sleeping area), the weather this morning and how clear it was, and then this evening and how much the weather had closed in.
Credit Cam Cameron – RockallExped.comCredit Cam Cameron – RockallExped.com Credit Cam Cameron – RockallExped.comCredit Cam Cameron – RockallExped.comCredit Cam Cameron – RockallExped.com
 
04/06/2023 – 20:10 UTC (21:10 BST)
 
New photos courtesy of Emil Bergmann. Emil spent several days on Rockall with Cam and Nobby. He has confirmed the team made over 7,200 radio contacts over 54 hours of transmissions, spread over 4 days and 3 nights.
3,800 via CW (Morse Code)
1,500 via SSB (Voice)
The remainder via digital radio messages.
 
Credit Emil Bergmann – RockallExped.comCredit Emil Bergmann – RockallExped.comCredit Emil Bergmann – RockallExped.comCredit Emil Bergmann – RockallExped.comCredit Emil Bergmann – RockallExped.comCredit Emil Bergmann – RockallExped.comCredit Emil Bergmann – RockallExped.comCredit Emil Bergmann – RockallExped.comCredit Emil Bergmann – RockallExped.com
 
 
 
04/06/2023 – 20:00 UTC (21:00 BST)
 
New photos added courtesy of MPV HIRTA
 
Credit MPV HIRTA
Credit MPV HIRTA
Credit MPV HIRTA
 

03/06/2023 – 20:30 UTC (21:30 BST)

All stations. An important request.
 
Cam was unable to find his Short Wave radio before the departure, and as such, doesn’t have one with him. He’s therefore missing out on those human voices, music and shipping forecast for company now he’s on Rockall on his own. Very sad I know.
 
Unfortunately, Amazon prime isn’t able to deliver to Rockall at present (come on Bezos, sort yourself out).
 
On the off chance that there are any vessels in the vicinity of Rockall, that have a spare one they can off load to him on loan, it would be very very much appreciated!
 
Please feel free to share with any fishing crews you may be in contact with in the area, Facebook groups etc.
 

03/06/2023 – 20:00 UTC (21:00 BST)

Cam’s photos from the MPV HIRTA visit.

Credit Cam Cameron

Credit Cam Cameron

03/06/2023 – 19:00 UTC (20:00 BST)

Great news – Cam has had visitors! This time they didn’t have wings. At 16:00 BST, Marine Protection Vessel (MPV) HIRTA, from Marine Scotland (a directorate of the Scottish Government), paid Cam a visit to check on him and provide him with a few extra supplies. This was an absolutely brilliant surprise for Cam and provided a well needed morale boost.

 
 

Credit MPV HIRTA

Credit MPV HIRTA Credit MPV HIRTACredit MPV HIRTACredit MPV HIRTACredit MPV HIRTACredit MPV HIRTACredit MPV HIRTA

01/06/2023 – 20:40 UTC (21:40 BST)

The radio transmissions will cease (QRT) early morning on Friday 02/06/2023. We have surpassed well in excess of 3,000 radio contacts from all over the world. The time has however come for the extraction of Nobby and Emil to begin. Exact numbers will be available once the team are safely off Rockall and have a chance to review the logs.

01/06/2023 – 05:50 UTC (06:50 BST)

From Cam – “We made it team. Thanks everyone. All safe. Tough ascent. Rough at the base of the Rock and weather is pretty good. Only 58 days to go”

Selfie of Cam on 31st May 2023 on Rockall

31/05/2023 – 20:10 UTC (21:10 BST)

Live update from Rockall: 3000 radio contacts so far!

Plus – it stinks (bird poo). The team are all loving it though. Current regular visitors are 2 Minke Whales, who are visiting within 50m of the rock daily!

31/05/2023 – 17:22 UTC (18:22 BST)

Emil, an expert mountaineer, was the first to land on the rock in order to fix and secure lines needed for Nobby and Cam to follow. It was not without incident – the swell was so great that he was washed into the sea twice before he was able to successfully able to get onto Rockall on the 3rd attempt.

Cam advises us their vessel, SV Taeping had to make 3 passes of Rockall before they were able to attempt any landings. Landings were carried out in Rigid Inflatable Boats (RIBs), carried by the SV Taeping.

31/05/2023 – 10:36 UTC (11:36 BST)

We have had confirmation from a number of radio amateurs that the team are now transmitting and have successfully activated as MM0UKI (MIKE-MIKE-ZERO-UNIFORM-KILO-INDIA), the call sign for Rockall.

Several radio amateurs have made recordings of their transmissions, which can be heard on our Twitter and Facebook pages.

30/05/2023 – 09:32 UTC (10:32 BST)

We can see from the GPS vessel tracking that it has been in the vicinity of Rockall since 06:58 UTC (07:58 BST). We are awaiting news that they have landed and that their satellite phones work.

29/05/2023 – 08:05 UTC UTC (09:05 BST)

From Cam: We are now over half way to the danger zone!

28/05/2023 – 05:00 UTC (06:00 BST)

The vessel has now left Campbeltown – next stop Rockall.

27/05/2023 – 21:47 UTC (22:47 BST)

From Emil: We are about to shelter in Campbeltown till late in the eve when conditions will be favourable for us. We will then sail none stop to Rockall. We will arrive early Tuesday morning. There is much work to be done but conditions at the Rock should be very good.

27/05/2023 – 13:14 UTC (14:14 BST)

From Emil: Weather around Rockall has been a bit rough, but progress is good. Currently taking 2 hour shifts at the helm.

27/05/2023 – 06:00 UTC (07:00 BST)

There’s been a weather front in the vicinity of Rockall recently which has kicked up a swell. Having left port yesterday afternoon, the team have delayed the voyage a bit so the seas calm down, & now hope to arrive Tues AM. Currently off the Isle of Arran.

26/05/2023 – 20:00 UTC (21:00 BST)

They have sailed! Several days voyage now until they get on station!

Imagery

All images here are licensed for press use but not resale, subject to being attributed to “Rockall Expedition / RockallExped.com” unless otherwise specified per specific image 

 

Licensable Video

Additional licensable footage of the expedition is available. Please email [email protected] and [email protected] to licence. Previews available here: https://www.dropbox.com/scl/fo/5kj0vkk024p5uyuc1if07/h?dl=0&rlkey=3wutcvo92uzunh2rpi4fph2rb

Licensed Images
These can be licensed as full size non watermarked versions by emailing [email protected] or [email protected].
 
 

Rockall

 
Credit Cam Cameron – RockallExped.comCredit Cam Cameron – RockallExped.comCredit Cam Cameron – RockallExped.comCredit Cam Cameron – RockallExped.comCredit Cam Cameron – RockallExped.com
 
Credit Emil Bergmann – RockallExped.comCredit Emil Bergmann – RockallExped.comCredit Emil Bergmann – RockallExped.comCredit Emil Bergmann – RockallExped.comCredit Emil Bergmann – RockallExped.comCredit Emil Bergmann – RockallExped.comCredit Emil Bergmann – RockallExped.comCredit Emil Bergmann – RockallExped.comCredit Emil Bergmann – RockallExped.com – RockallExped.com
Credit Emil Bergmann
 

Credit Cam Cameron

Credit Cam Cameron

Credit MPV HIRTA

Credit MPV HIRTA Credit MPV HIRTACredit MPV HIRTACredit MPV HIRTACredit MPV HIRTACredit MPV HIRTACredit MPV HIRTA

Credit Cam Cameron

Credit MPV HIRTA
Credit MPV HIRTA
Credit MPV HIRTA

Christopher “Cam” Cameron

Nobby Styles

Emil Bergmann